You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: fireandicepixie Signed [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2009 4:36 am
Chapter number: 31
Title: Chapter 31 Down the Garden's Twisting Paths

please update soon. thank you





Reviewer: Eluwei Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2009 11:42 pm
Chapter number: 31
Title: Chapter 31 Down the Garden's Twisting Paths

I hope you finish this.  It's wonderful.  As is all your work that I have read.





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2008 12:40 am
Chapter number: 16
Title: Chapter 16: As the Sun Rises

Kitsune Magic...very powerful, indeed.

And, besides being mischievous, this particular magic can be very wise, also.

It all depends on who wields the spell.





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2008 12:29 am
Chapter number: 15
Title: Chapter 15: Things Going Bump in the Night

Curiouser and curiouser.

('Alice in Wonderland'...I loved that phrase as a child...made my Mom go nuts...smirks!!!)

As you wrote:

'When you set up the ploy, you win by letting them do the action.'

Neatly phrased, my friend.

I'm looking forward to seeing where this is leading...and trying VERY hard to restrain myself from reading your last chapter ( no. 30). I won't make any promises, though. I've almost always read the last few pages from whatever book that I was interested in, just to make sure that the ending was good, and justified the story.

Kudos!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 11:04 pm
Chapter number: 14
Title: Chapter 14: Night Visits

Beautifully written.

I've had to take a hiatus, & I'm sure that you know why. I read your response & I thank you for it, although you flatter me more than I deserve.

But I'm back now, although I won't be able to read or write as much as I'd like to.

BUT...BIG BUT!! I'll be reading THIS story in my spare moments. Keep up the good work (even though I know that I'm kinda late with this!)!

HUGSS! Your friendship is very special and precious to me.

Thank you!





Reviewer: kneewalkingturkeys Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2008 3:06 am
Chapter number: 1
Title: Chapter 1 Stink Pellets and an Ambush

Interesting. Inari is very civilized. I cannot imagine the Aesir offering tea to the heroes who were to fight with them on the Rainbow Bridge. They are even offered a choice. Of course, for Inuyasha the only choice is to be with Kagome. It is interesting how what we call the Kami view themselves.  I see that your poem about the birds and blossoms came from EIMH. Well done. 

 

offering tea to  



Author's Response: Kami aren't as always as full of themselves as the Aesir are, IMHO....anyway, it would no doubt be mead instead of tea!  LOL.  And Benzaiten is a Buddhist face of Inari, after all....





Reviewer: kneewalkingturkeys Anonymous [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2008 6:20 am
Chapter number: 28
Title: Chapter 28 Fireside Memories

This is wonderful. We are on the eve of Ragnarok and our foxy kami is out to convince the bad guy that there are greater evils out there than youkai whose souls are to be saved by  killing them.(Does sound like the Inquisition or the world of 1984 doesn't it?) What we really need now is somebody with a big honking sword to stand on the Rainbow Bridge and stop the forces of evil from spreading Yomi in to Heaven and Earth. I am glad we have ringside seat to this fight. Thanks for all your hard work in sharing your vision.



Author's Response: What a great way of putting it!  And of course, we do have someone near at hand with a big honking sword....





Reviewer: kneewalkingturkeys Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 24, 2008 4:50 am
Chapter number: 1
Title: Chapter 1 Stink Pellets and an Ambush

I have really enoyed EIMH. You have done a lot of work on the Buddhist and Shinto religions.  I had one question about youkai and the kami. What is the relation between them? In Inuyasha the humans pray to the kami and worship them but none of the demons do. Here Sesshoumaru resents being a pawn in the kamis games and Inuyasha does not want to get on the wrong side of Inari,but they do not worship or pray to them. I always look forward to EIMH and in someways it will be a shame when it ends.



Author's Response:

Kami are supernatural beings, usually benevolent.  They may or may not have human form or shape.  They can be the spiritual expression of impressive natural features, forces of nature, heros, bodhisattvas, ancestors or upon occasion, even beings that we might want to classify as youkai or angry ghosts.  Youkai are a type of supernatural being, much like the type of beings that populate Irish and Scottish fairy lore.  They are often perceived as more likely to be negative, or neutral to human beings, but again, at times can be associated with Kami.  They don't have to be related to animals.  Many youkai are associated with things, like  Yura of the hair was actually a comb youkai.  Like Kami, they can be benevolent, but can also be dangerous, and in folklore encounters, the often are a danger...often seeming to be a negative force of nature...Worshipping the Kami really does seem to be a human activity.  But there are traditions of youkai who have been Buddhist. 

Thanks for the nice words about EIMH.  We still have a ways to go!  I've really enjoyed learning so much to write it as well! 





Reviewer: Pinkpanda Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2008 6:37 pm
Chapter number: 26
Title: Chapter 26 Foxlight in the Evening

 this is a  wonderful story can't wait to see what happens next.





Reviewer: umeboshi_girl Signed [Report This]
Date: January 03, 2008 8:34 am
Chapter number: 26
Title: Chapter 26 Foxlight in the Evening

This is a really charming story. I loved all of the poems and fables. It's obvious you did a lot of research about Japanese culture. Some of the religious references went over my head, but the plot was still easy to follow and it added a nice atmosphere to the story.

I particularly liked the little poem about Rin and the details regarding Teijo's swordwork. 

The characterizations are great - Sesshoumaru in particular is perfectly himself. You've written Inuyasha with a maturity that really suits him and I love his relationship with Kagome. They're so sweet together! 

I'm really curious about what happens next in the story and I hope you update soon. :)





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2007 5:12 pm
Chapter number: 25
Title: Chapter 25 A Mix of Sentient Beings

Wow!

Curiouser & curioser. These stories & songs have a deeper meaning, here, I'm sure. There's more to this than meets the eye.



Author's Response: Yep, they are all there for a reason!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2007 3:53 pm
Chapter number: 22
Title: Chapter 22 Stories

Another beautiful song. Very deep. and the story was good, too. Very enlightening.





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2007 3:41 pm
Chapter number: 21
Title: Chapter 21 Fox Talk

Beautiful song, Sweetie. Well thought up.





Reviewer: Caitriona Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2007 5:27 pm
Chapter number: 22
Title: Chapter 22 Stories

I really enjoyed the story about the kettle.  It says a lot about this story, about the series, and about life in general.  I like that this work as a whole give such a great slice of priestly life.  Thanks for sharing it!

Caitriona





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2007 2:47 am
Chapter number: 23
Title: Chapter 23 Noting the Tempo

So, the gang has finally reunited. Good.

I shall await for your next chapter to further enlighten me with abaited breath, little one. So much to learn, so little time to do so.

Good work, Sweetie.





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2007 10:30 pm
Chapter number: 19
Title: Chapter 19 Veiled Discoveries

Wow! If I may be so blunt, there are parts of this chapter that I personally find very 'deep' & insightful. Well done!





Reviewer: freelke Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2007 7:45 pm
Chapter number: 21
Title: Chapter 21 Fox Talk

YAY, please post again soon. great chapter!!!!





Reviewer: JediK1 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2007 2:20 am
Chapter number: 20
Title: Chapter 20 Rice Time

Ooo...that monk had better watch what he says about Kagome, or Sesshomaru won't be the only Inu to be scared of!  Great chapter!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2007 11:44 am
Chapter number: 1
Title: Chapter 1 Stink Pellets and an Ambush

Sweetie, I just read what you wrote me back from the 30th.

Amen, Sweetie, amen. I couldn't have said it any better, myself.

Hugs, Sweetie. JA NE.





Reviewer: Miss_Marilyn69 Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2007 8:16 am
Chapter number: 18
Title: Chapter 18 Something in the Air

I waited a while to read.  I'm glad because I was able to spend more time reading then if I'd jumped on the band wagon in the begining.  I really love all the japanese folklore your weaving into the story.  I hope your muses continure to stay with you as to keep the frequency of your updates coming.  In other words I look forward to more!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2007 5:10 am
Chapter number: 18
Title: Chapter 18 Something in the Air

Very, nice, very nice indeed. But I kinda found it short.

I can hardly wait for what's in store for everyone. I do hope that Shippou doesn't get into too much trouble, though. He's way too curious for his own good.

Until next time, Sweetie. JA NE.



Author's Response: Already beginning the next chapter...hopefully Shippou won't get too far out of sight!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2007 3:51 pm
Chapter number: 17
Title: Chapter 17: Pathways to Testing

The Russian written language is hard to read. There are more letters in their alphabet, along with written consonents and sounds. Yes, I said 'sounds'.

There is a letter for the sound 'sh' believe it or not. I clearly remember when my Gramps was trying to teach me some of his heritage. seems like an eternity, now. After all these years, I still truly miss him, my DJEDA.

I have a book, written by the 'JW's' that I bought years ago, that explains the basic beliefs and differences from one religion to another.

There are an awful lot of similarities from every religion, depending on which branch you go into.

In retrospect, though, when it all comes down to it, whatever we take comfort in, personally, I think that's all that matters.

So, after all, maybe the one that wrote what you read, finally DID read that prayer. Who knows?

Anywhoos, KUDOS! on this brilliantly written story, Sweetie. I absolutely love it, & cannot wait for the next chappie! And...huggssies right back at ya, little one.

 

Luv Ya, Viki.         JA NE. 



Author's Response:

So much in the human experience that is universal...love, hate, the pain of separation and death.  One thing Buddhism and Christianity share for sure is the emphasis, the need for compassion, understanding that so much of the human experience is rooted in misery, and it is through compassion and the willingness to transcend the things that lead to misery that life becomes meaningful and good.  And that is something we all can respond to.

Thank God for the good folk we meet along the way, and the memories they leave us, like part of a chain that binds past to future. The dark may shape a lot, but it is the light they leave us with that we carry in our hearts to help light our way. 





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2007 11:45 pm
Chapter number: 17
Title: Chapter 17: Pathways to Testing

WOW!  The prayer in the beginning of this story was very, very poignant, little one. it actually brought tears in my eyes. Probably, without even knowing it, you recited a prayer from the Russian Orthodox Religion.

Or, at least partly, from what I remember from my grandfather's funeral that was in 1989.

The only diffence is in the last 2 lines. Otherwise, it's basically the same thing, only in Russian.

You unwittedly brought back many memories, Sweetie. (SOBS!)

Thank you!

Viki. JA NE.



Author's Response: That is so interesting about the prayer, because I found it as part of a longer text that is often read at a certain type of Buddhist funeral...wonder if the religious leader who wrote the text had read the Orthodox prayer, or it's just our common humanity that allowed both traditions to say something so very similar...hugs to you!





Reviewer: kuniko Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2007 5:52 am
Chapter number: 16
Title: Chapter 16: As the Sun Rises

this is a wonderful story please update soon!!!





Reviewer: vikikibouki Signedstarstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2007 5:59 pm
Chapter number: 16
Title: Chapter 16: As the Sun Rises

WOW!!!

Sweetie, you've been VERY,VERY busy while I was away, writing on AFF. This story is taking an excellent turn. I'm really looking forward to seeing what you have hidden underneath your sleeve for the next chapter.

Although, I must admit, the ending of chapter 14 had me teary-eyed, there.

Until next time, little one. JA NE.



You must login (register) to review.